Historical Background of SASQ

  • The Southern African Society for Quality (SASQ) as it is known today has a rich history of origination, changes and development. A concise summary of the society’s advent is as follows.
  • The South African Society for Quality Control (SASQC) was established in 1976 by a group of quality professionals in Port Elizabeth (PE), to increase the awareness and importance of quality as a strategic survival tool for the South African Industries.
  • In 1980, the SASQC emerged as a unified national society for all practitioners in the Quality Control, Quality Assurance and Quality Management profession. This occurred by the amalgamation of the former SASQC which had been operating in the PE area, with the Quality Assurance Specialist Division of the SA Institute for Production Engineering. Both these entities had been operating as independent organisations for nearly ten years. During this period, the Society was a fully admitted member of the Associated Scientific and Technical Societies, with headquarters in Kelvin House Marshalltown, Johannesburg.
  • This society evolved, by the advent of the ISO 9000 series for Quality Management Systems in 1987, to the South African Society for Quality (SASQ).
  • SASQ was registered as a section 21 company in 1992 with the registration number 92/056622/08.
  • In 2012 the society was renamed the Southern African Society for Quality (SASQ) with an extended geography target and scope incorporating Environmental, Health and Safety, and SHEQ practitioners.